Look Around and Have Fun

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Starting Over - Week 1 of C25K

I took a couple months off from running to try to recover from my foot injury from July.  I just kept reaggrivating it.  I needed to let it heal.  So, on Monday I started over on C25K.  I don't see it as a step back, since I had made it to week 10 of the 10K Trainer.  I see it as a review. 

Day 1

It was a lot harder than I thought it would be.  We started off faster, and it was great.  It was hard though.  My brain knew I should be able to go longer.  My body said no. I was sluggish. It felt good to get moving again. 

**You will be seeing this blue running shirt in an upcoming review.**



Day 2

Today was easier running.  I was a little sad when I had to start walking.  That is, until I got to run 6.  Then I was about done. It was a balmy 21° and windy.  I was so cold from my elbows to my hands.  They turned red from the cold. 
**Don't mind my nails.**



My view of my running partner/hubby. 



My smile when day 2 was done. I always try to keep a smile on my face when I run.  It keeps it fun. 


Day 3

The final day of week 1.  It was easier, in a way.  I usually get an energy burst at the end.  This time, when we got to the last run, I tried to go faster.  My legs just wouldn't obey my brain.  I was thrilled to finish week 1.  I love week 2 and am excited to move on. 



**Originally post on Our Birth Journeys.**

  

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Bluetooth EXO Speaker

I love listening to music.  It's my favorite way to relax.  My biggest problem is when I'm in the shower.  I can't use a normal speaker in the bathroom when I take a shower due to the humidity.  I isily just turn on my iphone and might get to hear part of a song since it's not very loud.  Then I got to try the EXO Speaker.


It is a water resistant speaker.  You can use it outside, inside, or wherever.  I love the sound that comes from the speaker.  It's loud.  The bass and treble sound good. It connects easily with my phone's Bluetooth.  The battery also lasts a long time.  I only use it for 10-15 minutes during my shower.  I haven't had to charge it for a couple weeks.  It's a great speaker.    


A little more information about the EXO Speaker:

WIRELESS- Bluetooth CSR 4.0 and NFC connectivity that will work anywhere directly from your smartphone, mp3, tablet or laptop up to 30 ft. Take your music with you and free yourself from any extra cables.

ENERGY EFFICIENT - With a 2000 mAH battery delivering up to 10 hours of non stop music and a full recharge time of at most 3 hours

OUTDOORS - IPX3 Water resistant (light rain) and dust / mild shock protection make it a great choice for your outdoors adventures

**I received this product in exchange for my honest opinion and review.**








Hobby Race R/C Mini Buggy


I was able to play with the R/C Mini Buggy from Hobby Race.  It came just in time for my son's 8th birthday.  He was so excited to get a remote control car!  



We opened it up and put it all together.  After putting the 9V battery in the remote, and the 4 AA batteries in the charger, we got to work charging the car. It took about 30 minutes.  Then he was off playing with his car.  



He used the ramp from the box to jump his car, spun circles, drove it all over, and had a great time. It is so easy to use.  It also has a trimmer on the bottom to adjust the alignment for the front wheels. 



The only problem was the battery charger only worked once.  Then the green light would only come on for 5-10 seconds and would fade out.  This is as it died out. The green should be just as bright, and the car battery was dead.



I messaged the company, but haven't heard back yet.  Seeing how it was over the Christmas week, I'm assuming they were pretty busy. 

Thankfully it also had a USB charger that I can use with our computer.  That works fine, so he is constantly playing with it and a few weeks later still having a blast. He loves his mini buggy, and it's lasted a few weeks in our house, which is a lot.  

**I received this in exchange for my honest review.**






Sunday, December 28, 2014

Having fun in the kitchen making Baked Eggs in a Cup

I love trying new things in the kitchen.  How fun to get new kitchen items to try out and review!  I was excited when I got to try out a new zester and Select Culinary Silicon Baking Cups. 

I decided to put them to work and make baked eggs.   I turned the oven to 350°   Then put my baking cups in the cupcake pan, poured about a tablespoon of cream in each cup, and cracked one egg in each. 
**Looking back, I would suggest adding a little oil into each cup. The eggs stuck enough to make clean up a little harder.**



I put a little salt and pepper on each, and then grated some Parmesan cheese on each with the grater. 


I then baked them for 12-15 minutes.  At 15 minutes the yolks came out hard, so cook less if you want softer yolks. 


The just popped right out, but there was the ring at the top that was harder to get cleaned. That is, until I found a little trick. I soaked them for a little while, turned them inside out, then used my little vegetable brush to clean each one.  They cleaned up nice and easy. 

The zester/grater works great!  It's a big size, and will easily grate anything from cheeses to citrus peels. I wasn't paying attention at one point with the Parmesan and my hand slipped and I grated my fingers.  Be careful, because it will grate your skin too.  Ouch!  It's a super handy thing to have, and it's used at least every other day in my kitchen. 

The baking cups are so fun! You don't need to just make cupcakes.  You can bake eggs, meatloaf cups, and turkey with stuffing cups.  They are just great for individual servings!  Plus, they are reusable!

Definitely two kitchen items I absolutely love!  If you are wanting to buy these for your own kitchen you can find them at Amazon at the links below. 

Select Culinary Silicone Baking Cups - Set of 12 Cupcake Liners - Non-stick Silicone Cup Cake Molds https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MUHNC60/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_DwfOub1SFAPW6


Zester - Best Premium Zester Grater - Sharp Stainless Steel Blade- Black Handle https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KCY43U2/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_TxfOub06M3HZR


**I received one or more items in this post for free in exchange for my honest opinion.**



Friday, December 26, 2014

Rimini Tourmaline Ionic Ceramic Professional Hair Dryer Review

I've pretty much fallen in love with this hair dryer from XTAVA. 




It's much quieter than the hair dryers I'm used to. When I turned it on, it wasn't like I was drying my hair with a jet engine. It has 3 settings for heat, as well as the button for just cold air. It had the 3 level settings (high, med, low). I put it on medium to dry my hair, which it does quickly, and finish with a cool blast. My hair looks and feels amazing!

Another plus for me is the guard. I have hair that reaches my waist. I am able to use this hair dryer without my hair sucking into it. That's always been a problem for me. There's nothing scarier than smelling burnt hair when drying your hair.

I really like XTAVA's hair dryer. It's a great product, and is built well. 
What is so special about the Rimini Tourmaline Ionic Ceramic Professional Hair Dryer?

-Ultra lightweight Hair Dryer
-Triple Baked Tourmaline Ionic Ceramic for even heat distributio
-2 Speeds and 3 Heat settings for professional styling and perfect drying
-Cold Shot Button releases cool air to fix your styling
-Concentrator Nozzle Included


To order your Rimini Tourmaline Ionic Ceramic Professional Hair Dryer, go to the link below. 



**I was able to try these out and review it in exchange for my honest opinion.**



Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Total Hair a Repair Oil


I was able to try out Foxbrim's Total Hair Repair Oil.  It's one if those products you are amazed that you hadn't heard of before.  



With years worth of damage to my hair, I am happy with what I've seen. It so easy to apply.  Jump in the shower, apply a small amount into your hands and apply to your hair. Wait at least 10 minutes. Take that time to shave, moisturize, scrub, or whatever.  Then shampoo your hair. For a more deep treatment, leave it in overnight, sleeping with a cap or something protective on your head.  

You can also scrunch a small amount into your hair and leave it.  



Why use Foxbrim's Total Hair Repair Oil?

Foxbrim's Total Hair Repair Oil combines nutrient-rich plant oils to effectively nourish and completely restore hair. Feed your hair with nature's best. Now's the time to replenish dry and damaged hair to give you the beautifully strong, healthy looking hair you desire and deserve.

Key natural ingredients include:
+ Organic Argan Oil
+ Jojoba Oil
+ Shea Butter
+ Grapeseed Oil
+ Sunflower Oil

If you are wanting to read more about Foxbrim's Total Hair Repair Oil, find them at Amazon here: 
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OZQ7EQI/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_awdm_AmKMub1WMM60J 

**I received this product in exchange for my unbiased opinion and review.**

Sunday, December 21, 2014

A December To Remmber

This has been a December to remember. First off, we got started on our new house.  I am SO thrilled to get into a big and beautiful kitchen.  All stainless steel appliances, tile kitchen floor, gorgeous cabinets, and a beautiful table for breakfast or entertaining. 


Then we had my daughter Hannah's 13th birthday.  She wasn't really looking forward to turning 13.  There was a sadness about that day for her.  We later found out why.  

That night, as I was making her cake, we got a phone call from my mom.  My grandfather had just passed away.  He was 94 years, 4 months, and 4 days old. We then made sure to do what we could to still be happy for Hannah, celebrate her birth, and be thankful for my grandfathers life.  

We then went to his funeral this last Monday. 


Yesterday we celebrated my son Brigham's 8th birthday. For the first time in 2 years, nobody was sick on his birthday other than a few with a cough.  Nobody else passed away.  He had a fun day with a race car for one of his gifts. He was able to play in the snow before it melted overnight.  


They built a creepy snowman with leaves as eyes and a mouth. 


Yesterday was also the day of my estimated due date for my daughter Joy. 2 years ago I hoped that Brigham and Joy would share a birthday.  She kept me waiting.  I then hoped for Christmas Eve, Christmas, New Years Eve, New Years Day, my birthday... As they all passed by, she picked her own birthday 19 days after her EDD.  

All a remembrance and celebration in December, 2014.  

I have started my jar.  I wasn't going to start it until January, but I put my first slip in.  



I hope you all have a great end of the year.  It's a time to remember those we love, those we lost, and those that are to come.  

Saturday, December 20, 2014

180 Cosmetics Stretch Mark Solution

Over the years I've gained more than a few stretch marks from pregnancies.  I have been using 180 Cosmetics Stretch Mark Solutions for about a month.  My stretch marks were already silvery and faded, so I didn't really notice anything because, well, they're about as good as they are going to get.  


I do love the ingredients of the cream.  I love that they are not using the toxic ingredients other companies use.  They are using the more natural approach.  


There is almost no scent to it.  You don't need to worry about an overpowering smell that ends up giving you a headache.  It's creamy, and nice.  It leaves your skin feeling soft and rehydrated.  Such a nice cream.  If I do get pregnant again, I will be using this on my tummy to help prevent any new stretch marks.  

If you are looking to try out the 180 Cosmetics Stretch Mark Solution, go to their Amazon page where you can read more about them.  

http://www.amazon.com/180-cosmetics-stretch-mark-solution/dp/b00iw58kei



Product Description

180 Cosmetics Body Shaping Solution

This one-of-a-kind formula is clinically proven to dramatically increase skin elasticity, repair and firm skin tissues, and boost tensile strength at the deepest levels. The formula's unique combination of active ingredients not only repairs existing stretched tissues, but also prevents the formation of new stretch marks.

* Ideal for use before pregnancy (prevention) and after pregnancy (repair) and/or weight loss
** Scientifically formulated to restore skin's firmness, tensile strength, and elasticity
*** Protects the skin's structural layer from forming new stretch marks
**** Active ingredients keep skin highly moisturized, nourished, and revitalized



**I received this in exchange for my unbiased opinion and review.**

Makeup Kits by One Direction

How much fun can makeup be for someone in their 30's?  It can still be fun and colorful!   I received makeup kits by One Direction through Brandbacker.  I was able to play with the Electro Glam Mascara, Liquilights Glow Gloss, and the Rock Me Nail Kit. You can find them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MakeupbyOneDirection


I had a lot of fun playing with the different kits.  

The lip gloss was a fun bright color. The mascara didn't show up on my eyes very well, but...

It sure popped in my hair!!!  This was my favorite.  I love using it in my hair to streak it for a temporary fun splash of color!





ELECTRO GLAM MASCARA

Give your look a jolt of electric colour, with this limited-edition trio of ultra-bold coloured mascaras for hair and lashes, in three heavily pigmented, buildable colours. 
FOR LASHES- Make a subtle statement by adding a pop of colour to the tips of your lashes, or add coats to your entire lashes for a shockingly chic look. The more the better!
AS A HAIR MASCARA- Apply to small sections of hair and swipe through for instant ELECTRIC highlights.



LIQUILIGHTS GLOW GLOSS

Liquilights Glow Gloss sparkles brilliantly during the day and illuminates under UV black light after dark. Enriched with natural oils and vitamin E to keep your lips soft and hydrated all day and all night. 
Gloss can be worn alone for a pop of sparkle and color, or paired with One Direction crème lipstick for a bolder look. 

Through the Dark- Electric glitter poppy lip gloss that glows to neon red-orange under UV light 
Kiss You- Orange glitter rush lip gloss that glows to neon yellow under UV light 
Taken - Powerhouse glitter pink lip gloss that glows to neon orange under UV light


ROCK ME NAIL KIT

ROCK ME NAIL KIT, featuring NEON UV-REACTIVE Nail Varnish and UV-REACTIVE GLITTER nail toppings that add even more sizzle to your mani, for nails that light up day and night. 
Sprinkle the glitter over wet polish for a subtle accent, or go for the glitz and dip your entire wet mani in mega-watt sparkle! 

Nail Varnish:
Happily– UV iced blue glitter 
Moments- UV neon pink 
Diana- UV 3D holographic 

Glitter Toppings: 
Kicks- UV snow cone blue
Not afraid- UV electrified pink glitter 
Star-- UV holo glitter 

Makeup by One Direction hit the following stores November 15th!
Macy's
Dillards
Boscov's
Stage Stores
Beauty Brands
Lord & Taylor



**I received this at no charge in exchange for my review and unbiased opinion.**

Thursday, December 18, 2014

InstaNatural Beauty Review

{\rtf1\ansi\ansicpg1252 {\fonttbl\f0\fswiss\fcharset0 Helvetica;} {\colortbl;\red255\green255\blue255;\red0\green0\blue0;\red255\green255\blue255;} \deftab720 \pard\pardeftab720\sl440\partightenfactor0 \f0\fs28 \cf2 \cb3 \expnd0\expndtw0\kerning0 \outl0\strokewidth0 \strokec2 \cf2 \cb1 \expnd0\expndtw0\kerning0 \outl0\strokewidth0 \strokec2 \ } I have enjoyed reviewing the different beauty products from InstaNatural.  Their Hyaluronic Acid Syrum is wonderful on my skin.  The cold weather dries out my face so bad.  It will even start to flake and itch.  

I've been using the Hyaluronic Acid Syrum on my face after I shower.  It's amazing the difference it has made.  It's light.  There's no heavy, greasy feel to it.  It absorbs into your skin quickly.  I love that I don't have to wait for it to dry or absorb.  I put it on and I'm done.  No more itching or flaking.  My face feels awesome.  I love it!  



The Vitamin C Facial Toner is one that I would have loved to use more if, but I seemed to have a bit of a reaction to it.  It caused my skin to itch and burn, so I stopped using it after the first try.  The scent is a bit strong, but isn't bad.  It has a watery feel and is absorbed quickly into the skin. 

I do like the Youth Express Eye Gel.  I use just a tiny bit of the gel and it will cover a big area.  This is great because it will last quiet a long while.  I just put it around the wrinkle prone areas of my eyes.  It too is a light, non greasy gel.  It absorbs quickly and leaves no feel after. 

You can find all the InstaNatural products on facebook and Amazon. Click the links below to find out more about their company and products. 




**I received these products as a promotion through BrandBacker in exchange for my unbiased review.**

AlgaeCal Plus Review + Giveaway

I have a hard time getting my calcium and magnesium, especially when pregnant and nursing.  I tend to get leg cramps and muscle twitches a lot.


I've been taking AlgaeCal Plus almost daily.  I have a tendency to forget, but I've been doing great.  I feel much better with these.  The added magnesium has helped my chocolate cravings too (see how they are linked).  They are bigger capsules, but I haven't had any issues swallowing them. Be aware of their size if you do have trouble swallowing pills (hiatal hernia or something of the sort). 



It's a great product to have on hand.  If you are needing to resupply on your calcium, check them out on Amazon here: 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0056HNB7G/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1418942857&sr=1-1

AlgaeCal is also giving one bottle away to one lucky fan.  This giveaway won't last long, so get your entries in quick. 



From the company:

AlgaeCal Plus was made for women & men 45 and older, wanting to prevent or treat Osteopenia or Osteoporosis or recover from a fracture naturally. AlgaeCal Plus is a safe, easily absorbed and CLINICALLY PROVEN way of building strong, healthy bones at any age. AlgaeCal Plus is the ONLY calcium supplement backed by a double your money back guarantee. Each Bottle Contains: 90 Easy-to-Swallow Veggie Capsules Non Constipating, Non Bloating, Easy to Swallow Calcium Vegetarian Friendly

Ingredients

AlgaeCal Plus is a unique plant source calcium and mineral complex derived from a South American marine algae called Algas CalcareasTM. AlgaeCal is a natural occurring mixture of bone building nutrients, containing: AlgaeCal Plus (4 daily servings), Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) 1600 IU, Vitamin K2 (as MK-7) 100 mcg, Calcium (from Algas CalcareasTM) 720 mg, Magnesium (from Algas CalcareasTM + Magnesium Oxide) 350 mg, Trace Minerals (from Algas CalcareasTM) 1464 mg, Boron (Glycinate) 3 mg, and Vitamin C (calcium ascorbate) 50 mg Other Ingredients Vegetable Cellulose(vegetarian capsule) Silicon Dioxide Magnesium Stearate(vegetable grade)

Directions

Suggested Use - take AlgaeCal Plus with your meals for optimal results For prevention or maintenance - take 3 capsules per day For bone growth - take 2 capsules in the morning with breakfast and 2 with your evening meal Also take our companion product Strontium Boost to maximize bone health. Note: there may be a slight powdery film on the capsules. This is normal and due to the fact that they are veggie caps.


**I received this bottle of AlgaeCal in exchange for my review.**

"Like New" Clothing - My Online Shopping Experience


I rarely ever get stuff for myself.  When I get the chance I usually end up getting something for the kids instead.  When I had the opportunity to buy $25 worth of clothes from http://www.perfectthreads.ca I was thrilled to get something for myself.  I have always loved buying gently used clothes.  They are still in amazing condition, but you can generally get them for a much lower price than retail.  I was not let down. 





I made my way through the women's clothing, adding stuff to my wish list. Then I made my way to the kids clothes.  My daughter was getting ready to turn 13.  My son was about to turn 8.  I looked over a few things. Added them to my wish list.  I then went in and started weeding through what I really wanted.  I decided that although I could get the kids something, they have tons of clothes.  I deserved a gift.  Just once I was going to get myself something nice.  So, I did.  

I was able to get 2 tops and a long cardigan for just under $30. 


Less than a week later I had a package at my door!  I was so excited!  I ripped into my package and tried them on.  I love them!!!  It's what I had hoped for.  

Sorry the pictures are a little dark.  I plan to fit a little better in the white shirt very soon.  Getting back into my exercise routine.  

There are so many great items online for amazing deals.  They also offer Free Shipping for orders over $50, and ship to anywhere in the continental United States or to any Canadian province.  Check them out today at http://www.perfectthreads.ca. 



**I received this in exchange for my unbiased opinion.**