Look Around and Have Fun

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Speech Buddies introduction

This post contains sponsored links. 



This will be a longer review, but I'm very excited for it.  This is the Speech Buddies system.  I am doing a video review on my blog and YouTube showing my children and their speech before they use this, and then after we go through their speech therapy with the system.  I will also show how the tools are used.  

Keep an eye out for updates as we use this. 

You can find out more at http://www.speechbuddies.com

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Ozeri 3 Piece Skillets

This post contains sponsored links. 


I cook daily.  As a stay at home mom, and soon to be restaurant owner, i do a ton of cooking.  I love to try out different kitchen items, and one thing that I still love is Ozeri skillets.   This 3 piece set of pans from Ozeri was provided for me to test out.  I got an 8 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch nonstick pan. 



Each one has a felt protector to put inside the pans to keep them from getting scratches up when they are put away.  




I love that they aren't the toxic nonstick that most skillets use.  This is a ceramic coating that makes it a healthier option.  

You can also put them straight into the oven.  We will start our cooking on the stovetop, and then finish up in the oven.  The handle is able to withstand the oven temperature, although I don't go over 425° with them.  



With the nonstick surface, you only need a tiny amount of fat to cook with.  Here, I am cooking turkey burgers.  They made a lot of juice, but you can see in the video how they don't stick at all. 



I use about a tablespoon generally, but you can use less.  It's also durable.  I seemed to have had a forgetful moment yesterday, and I left my skillet on medium heat empty for about 20 minutes.  I put some water in it when I discovered it, and it works perfectly fine today.  I like how well these work for nonstick cooking.  

You can get these on Amazon, Walmart, Sears, and Home Depot. 

I was able to test these out for free and give my opinion of how well they work.  

Monday, December 12, 2016

Scrape-A-Round

This post contains sponsored links. 


If you're tired of scraping your windows the old fashioned way, then join the Scrape-A-Round movement. You will secure your family's safety, access new gift ideas and scrape your windows cleaner in half the time with the world's best windshield ice scraper. View the Scrape-A-Round action http://youtu.be/baHi-litcD8 

The Scrape-a-round is a brilliant feat of ice scraping engineering. The simple explanations why Scrape-A-Round is the best ice scraper are as follows, Scrape-A-Round is the:
Best ice scraper because of the softer plastic, allows the scraper to conform to the window curvature! Find out more information: http://www.scrapearound.com/



18" of ice scraping surface.
The comfortable grasp provides relief for the arthritic or carpal syndrome sufferer.
Direct pressure to the window, no pressure lost through the ice scraper!

The circular rotational motion of ice scraper.

Double ice scraper action, leading edge and trailing edge.

Multi functional, remove the cap and it doubles as a funnel. 

This scrapes windows frost and ice free in half the time!

Makes the perfect gift for the Holidays! 
http://www.scrapearound.com/


My readers get to save! Get FREE Shipping at http://www.scrapearound.com/ Use code LU8FBEZREU2 at checkout. 

http://usfamilyguide.com/coupons.php?bid=13171&dealid=3099

Your Favorite Child and a Sassy Coffee Cup

This post contains sponsored links. 


I love coffee cups.  It's possibly one of the few things I love more than coffee.  My family had started making fun of me due to my growing collection and obsession with coffee cups.  I was recently asked to review two different cups from Got Me Tipsey.  

The first cup is my very favorite.  It's a clear glass mug that says "I love how we all know that I'm your favorite child".  This is perfect for a gift from a child to a parent or caretaker.  We all know we're our parents' favorite child.  As a parent, we all know we try not to play favorites.  It's a great play on the tug of war on favorites.  



This cup is surprisingly heavy and solid.  I was expecting a mug that weighed about the same as a regular coffee mug.  This one is a little thicker than the normal coffee mug, and is about twice as heavy. The bottom is very thick as well.  It holds 13 ounces, and it is also microwave safe.
You can find it here:


The second mug I got is a white ceramic coffee mug.  It has written across the cup:
"Classy
Sassy
And A Bit
BAD ASSY"



This mug is the normal classic coffee cup feel and weight.  I love the classic white look with the writing across the front and back of the mug.  It's not overly cluttered and overwhelming with designs.  It is perfect for a fun gift for friends or family, or just a mug for yourself to make you smile in the morning.  

It is build well, without any defects or blemishes.  It is able to hold 11 ounces, an is microwave safe.  This makes it able to easily heat milk for hot cocoa.  

You can find it at this link:



I received these mugs free in exchange for my review. 

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Talking Rocks Cavern in Branson

FAMILY FUN at Talking Rocks Cavern! 



Explore the world underground in "Missouri's Most Beautiful Cave" where fun, knowledgeable guides take you along lighted paths to view amazing crystal formations. Budget friendly Rock/Gift Shop, gemstone mining, and Cave Country Mini-Golf. Enjoy the nature trails, lookout tower, picnic areas and indoor and outdoor SpeleoBox cave crawls, which are free to our guests.



$2.00 OFF EACH CAVE ADMISSION - Save $2.00 off each regular price admission. Not vaild with other offers. Valid for up to 10 people!

http://bransonkidsguide.com/coupon.php?regionid=75&bid=12885&dealid=2801 .@usfg

Great Holiday Deal for Branson's Famous Baldknobbers

Branson's Famous Baldknobbers is "the show that started it all" in Branson! 



The show is a country music and comedy variety show that features a talented cast of vocalists, musicians and comedians providing fun for the entire family. For more than 57 years, the Baldknobbers has been the show to see in Branson. 

Don't miss your chance to see "the show that started it all", Branson's Famous Baldknobbers!


Baldknobbers' Christmas Vacation Receive $3.00 OFF each ADULT TICKET or $5.00 OFF our FAMILY PASS - 

Receive $3.00 OFF each ADULT TICKET or $5.00 OFF our FAMILY PASS when you mention "Baldknobbers' Christmas Vacation" when making your reservation. 

Not valid with any other offer or discount.

http://usfamilycoupons.com/coupon.php?regionid=75&bid=13148&dealid=3074 .@usfg

Monday, December 5, 2016

Ozeri Popcorn Popper is a fun family night activity

This post contains sponsored links.


We are big popcorn people in our family. We actually sell kettle corn at festivals, so we know about popcorn.  

The Ozeri Movietime Popcorn Maker was given to me to review, and my kids absolutely LOVE this!  This is great for a cozy snack, family night, game night, or just for no reason other than to eat popcorn!


This popcorn popper from Ozei is very easy to use.  The lid jut sets up on top.  It doesn't snap on, so be careful you don't bump it and knock it off.  There is a little measuring cup to measure your popcorn kernels into the popper.  You just dump the kernels (no more than 1/3 cup) into the popper.  Do NOT add anything but the kernels.  The butter comes later. 



If you want to use butter or coconut oil for your popcorn, turn the measuring cup upside down, making it's bowl, and put on top of the popper lid.  This will warm the butter or oil and melt it as the popcorn pops.  Now, I learned to cut the butter into smaller cubes, as tablespoon sized chunks didn't melt hardly at all.  

When ready, plug in the popper, and it turns on automatically, spinning the kernels as it heats up.  


As the popcorn pops, it goes up and out the shoot, and into the bowl that you need to have under the popper at the end of the shoot.  Then I pour my melted butter from the cup and add salt.  Then stir it up. 





I did find that there is always a few pieces left inside the popper.  I use hot pads (as the popper is very hot), take the cover off, and dump the few popcorn pieces into the bowl.  There was also a slight smell the first few times we used the popper.  It will go away as it is used more.  

The kids pig out on the popcorn as a fun and healthy snack!


(You can see how the large butter hunks didn't melt)

If you would like one of your own, click the link for the listings at the retailers below.  

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Ozeri-Movietime-26-Cup-Healthy-Popcorn-Maker-Red/54304210

http://m.sears.com/ozeri-movietime-26-cup-healthy-popcorn-maker/p-00814236000P



**I received this free in exchange for my honest an unbiased review.**

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Xero Sale - Ends Tomorrow 12/4/16

Hurry! Ends Tomorrow! You can win $100! Get up to 70% off their shoes! These are amazing shoes and you can get a huge deal on them right now! I'll be posting a video review of these soon!


Save 70% on Xero Shoes

Thursday, December 1, 2016

My Therapy Wine Glass

This post contained sponsored links.



This is a really cute and fun wine glass.  It is 7 1/2 inches tall, and it has a nice thickness to it.  The front has a stick figure on a couch drinking from the glass, and the wine glass reads "My Therapy".



This is a fun glass to get for the wine lover in your life.  This could be for your friend, relative, spouse, or for yourself.  It's a great little gift that could be paired with their favorite wine, or even filled with chocolates and given to them that way.

It comes very protected, wrapped in bubble wrap and secured inside it's own box.  Definitely a great addition for the wine cabinet, reserved for those stressful days.

Take a look at this glass at the link below:
http://tinyurl.com/h9g5gv9


Fun Friction Toy Vehicles For Small Children

This post contains sponsored links.


I have several small children that absolutely love playing with toy vehicles.  One of the kind they love most are the friction vehicles.  These are the ones that they can roll on the floor and "rev" up so that they will keep on going across the floor almost like they are motorized.  The little kids love that they can really roll those across the floor and get them moving across the room.


When I was offered the opportunity to try out these friction toy vehicles, I was thrilled.  I knew my 2, 3, and 5 year old boys and girl would be thrilled to try them out!  When they arrived, it was confirmed that I was correct, and they dug into the box and started playing with them right away.




I'm not one to say my kids are nice to their toys.  They aren't.  They are ones that will really test out a toy and see how tough that toy is.  I am going to say that these three friction cars will really take a beating.  My kids have played with these daily for a couple weeks now.  They throw them.  They go down the stairs.  They get over revved.  They get crashed and stepped on.  So far they are still in perfect playing condition.  They haven't broken.  They haven't chipped or had pieces fall off.  They are really great.


If you are interested in getting these for a holiday gift, or just for your kids to play with, click the link below.

Click Here For The Amazon Listing.


I received these free in exchange for my review.

Friday, November 18, 2016

Cast Iron For Cooking

This post contains sponsored links.


One of the most essential pieces of cookware you can own is the very basic, and very innocent looking, cast iron skillet. This is an almost eternal piece of equipment that is easy to use, easy to take care of, and can be passed down for generations.



This is a 12" cast iron skillet. It came pre seasoned, meaning it is ready to use after a quick wash. They are the old school non stick skillet and, if properly cared for, will be your go to cooking item. You can fry chicken in them, cook bacon, make cakes, bake in them, and use them or everything imaginable in the kitchen world.

I love using cast iron for my cooking.  It is so amazing to use, being a natural and extremely durable non stick skillet.  It also provides iron into your diet just from using it.  I make everything from breakfast, lunch, dinner, and even desserts in them.  These are great for cooking from bacon to pineapple upside down cake.



The skillet seen here was my second time using it.  I loved using the bacon in it, as the fat was allowed to sit in it until it cooled.  That really seemed to help the seasoning.  The third use was with French Toast for my kids' breakfast.  I buttered the skillet between batches, and by the third batch the skillet was so non stick that I was able to put the French Toast on the skillet and immediately move it without it sticking at all.

Cast Iron Care:
If you see some rust pop up, scrub the spot with a little kosher salt. Then rub down your skillet with oil and put upside down in the oven for 30-60 minutes at 400°. Turn the oven off after the time is up, and remove once the oven is completely cool. 

Don't use soap on your skillet when washing. Hot water will work perfectly. Once washed, oil the skillet and dry on a hot burner. Remove from the heat, wipe it off, and let it cool. It's then ready to use again!



I received this skillet for free in exchange for my review.  All experiences and thoughts are my own.

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Halloween Diaper Giveaway!!!

A Halloween Cloth Diaper Giveaway on Facebook!

This is not my page, but this is a diaper company I am getting a personalized diaper through!

You have 24 Hours (ends Monday 8-22-16)!

Like the Straub Sewing & Design page, share their post, and let them know Amanda from Big Family Reviews sent you!!!

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Camo Portable Digital Wrist Watch Walkie Talkie

This post contains sponsored links.


My kids have been wanting walkie talkies for quite a while.  They love to play outside, inside, and everywhere they can.  However, the ability to talk to each other from a distance is something that they are absolutely enthralled about.  To their utter delight, I was able to do a review of these Camo Portable Digital Wrist Watch Walkie Talkies through Lucky Product on Amazon.



A little information about these:
* Multi-channels 

* Auto Squelch; Auto Battery Saving 

* Internal VOX 

* Auto Channel Scan 

* Call alert signal button for urgent calls 

* 12 hours AM/PM time display 

* Easy and Convenient to use 

MIC: Built-in Microphone Battery: Lithium-Ion Rechargeable Battery 

Speaker: Built-in Speaker 

Standby: Time 24 Hours 

Talk Time: Approx 3 Hours 

Scan: Press to enter channel scan 

Down: Adjust volume level (default), and makes channel and watch adjustments in menu mode 

Up: Adjust volume level (default), and makes channel and watch adjustments in menu mode 

Power/Menu: Press and hold to turn unit ON/OFF. A quick, single press accesses the menu and watch setting 

PTT/Call: (Multi Function): Press and hold to transmit voice communication. Press twice in a rapid action to transmit call-tone 


When we first got them, the kids dug into the box.  It came with both rechargeable watch walkie talkies, 2 sets of chargers, 2 sets of earbuds for "stealth mode" when using the walkie talkies, 2 batteries (1 for each), and the instruction manual.  We immediately set up the watches to fully charge, which we went ahead and left plugged in for 3 hours just to make sure.

My 12 year old daughter and 9 year old son, as soon as they were allowed to, quickly put on their watch walkie talkies and got ready to get playing with them.  We set them up on the same channels, which was very easy to do using the buttons on the watch.  Then they immediately knew how to use them.

The volume on these is amazing.  The speaker was easily heard when they were talking without using the earbuds.  The audio was loud and clear when they used them.  The earbuds worked great for handsfree use, but only my daughter like to use the earbuds as her personal preference.  We were able to have them used throughout all parts of our house, as well as outside in the yard and at the park.  They were about 100 yards from each other and still talking clearly with one another.

The batter life seems very good.  They can play for around 3 hours of constant use, but usually longer since they aren't constantly using them.  They also last for 3-4 days if turned off and put away.  They are pretty easy to use, and I found that my kids were able to figure them out and play with them pretty much straight from the box.  This may be one of the favorite of the electronics my kids have had the pleasure of helping to review.


I received this free to review.  If you are interested in buying these, you can find them HERE on Amazon.


Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Wilderness Aware Rafting

Wilderness Aware Rafting offers white water rafting in Buena Vista, Colorado. We offer outstanding guides, 39 years of white water experience, and a unique knowledge and appreciation of the natural environment forged by our many years of living and working on various rivers as well as our educational background in Environmental Interpretation and Wildlife Biology. 




Our raft trip options include the Arkansas River, Colorado River, Dolores River, Gunnison River and North Platte River.


Call 800.462.7238 or book online at www.inaraft.com

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

60mm Compact Refractor Telescope by Gskyer

This post contains sponsored links.


As a homeschooling mother, I love to find new ways to get my kids excited about learning.  One fun item I was able to review recently caused me to have to drag my kids inside because it was way past their bedtime.  We have never owned a telescope before, and truthfully, it was the first time I had ever even used one.  This was really as exciting for me as it was for the kids.

Last night was the perfect night, as it was a full moon.  We had tried for quite a while, but rain and cloudy nights mixed with sickness seemed to prevent us from taking it out.  So, we went out into the yard and played with our new telescope.



A little about this telescope from Gskyer.



  • Style:60AZ Refractor,Aperture:60mm(2.4"),ActualFocal Length:700mm+50mm power refractor telescope & Permanently mounted StarPointer. & Erect image optics - Ideal for terrestrial and astronomical use
  • Multilayer Glass Green coated optics for enhanced image brightness,protect your eyes
  • Free includes 2 separate Interchangeable eyepieces and A 3X Barlow lens to increase viewing power & Pan handle Alt-Az control with clutch - for smooth and accurate pointing
  • Includes erecting eyepiece, A180° diagonal, moon filter , Astronomy Software and a sturdy adjustable Aluminium Alloy tripod- Good Partner with accessory tray,and Quick release dovetail attachment - no tool setup, very clear to View Moon and Planet Just At Your Home-with Handy Bag
  • Warranty:1-year limited lifetime warranty

Optical Design: Refractor
Aperture: 60mm(2.32in) 
Focal Length: 700mm(27.55in) 
Focal Ratio: F11.6
Eyepiece1: 25mm(0.98in) 
Magnification1: 28X
Eyepiece2: 10mm(0.39in) 
Magnification2: 70X
Max Magnification: 210
Finderscope: 5*24
Zenith Mirrors: 48°Erecting prism
Mount: U Altazimuth Mount
Optical coating: Antireflection Green Film
Barlow lens: 3X
Resolution: ≤4.1
Angular Field of View: 1°21"
Tuble connection: U Altazimuth Mount Screw
Tripod: Aluminium Alloy Tripod
Shipping Weight: 5Kg(176 ounces) 
Item Dimensions:33.5in*12in*4.33in


Overall, this is a really fun telescope.  Now, I'm not experienced with them. However, it was rather simple to follow the directions and put it together.  It fold up easily when not in use, and folds back down with the tripod very easily.  It is pretty sturdy and stable, although a tiny bump of the tripod will knock it out of alignment.  The lenses are so easy to switch out, and I was able to do it while keeping the moon and planets still aligned with the telescope.

I did struggle a little with the spotter scope, but that is my lack of experience.  I was able to find the moon and planets with the scope, but struggled to get it where it would be in the center cross hairs when it was in the center of the telescope view.  Once I get used to it then I will get that fixed.  For now I know it's in the bottom right quadrant of the scope.   The different lenses are a lot of fun to switch out, and to see the difference between them.  I will say that the full moon was very bright.  It was amazing, and I really wish I could have gotten a picture of what we could see.  All the kids from 3 to 14 were outside looking through it to see the craters and mountains on the moon.  It was so amazing, and really one of the most awesome sights I've seen.  It got my kids talking about Galileo and exploring the solar system.  It has opened up so much for the older and the younger children when it comes to exploring and studying what they had always seen, but had never really "seen".


I received this in exchange for my review.  If you are interested in finding out more about this telescope, or purchasing it, you can find it HERE on Amazon.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Graco Fit4Me 65 Car Seat

This post contains sponsored links.

As a mother of 9, and soon to be 10, I have been through a lot of car seats.  I've tried many out over the 18 years of being a mother, and I've learned a lot about car seat safety.  I've learned about the straps and how tight they should be, and how you shouldn't wash them.  I've learned about not using the head cushions you purchase in stores.  I've learned about the chest clip height.  I also discovered over the years that my car seats have expiration dates.  There is so much more, but those are the basics.  
I was able to try out a new car seat with my son, Zechariah back in September of 2015.  The car seat is 9 months old now, and my thoughts are the same now as when I first got it.  It is still his favorite car seat.  It is so comfortable for him, and he loves to go places so he can be in his Graco Fit4Me 65 car seat.

I am really impressed with the Fit4Me 65 Convertible Car Seat.  The first thing I noticed when I pulled it out of the box was how cushioned it was for my baby. He was 17 months old, and 22 pounds. It fits babies and kids rear facing from 4 to 40 pounds, and 20 to 65 pounds forward facing, so I knew it will last him a long time. It is so comfortable feeling, and the head cushion is really nice, but very easily removable by just sliding it out from behind the headrest. I debated taking it out, but my little guy really liked it, so it stayed in. He was so excited to get this seat. Before we put it in our van, if his bigger sister or brother tried to get in it he would cry, as you can see in this picture.

He is much happier when she isn't trying to touch his car seat.


I absolutely love that the height is easily adjusted with the handle on the top. I don't have to take the seat completely apart and move the straps. This is a huge plus for this seat. I did have a little trouble figuring out how to move the buckle by his legs that the other belts click into. I finally figured it out and got it quickly changed to the correct spot for him. The belts are easy to loosen and tighten, but they don't move unless you push the button by baby's feet where the belt adjustment is located to loosen or pull to tighten the belt for him.
The ability to recline the seat with the pull of a handle is great. I have to have it reclined when in the rear facing position in my van. I put him in it, and was able to adjust the the correct position in seconds.
The cup holder is just too cute. It's perfect for holding a bottle, sippy cup, snacks, spit up rag, or even toys or a pacifier. It's nice to have that extra spot where something can be held within reach of baby or of someone sitting next to baby. The pattern is just lovely. I really like the blue of this seat. It's not too bright, and very pleasing to the eye.
Last, but not least, is the easy to remove cover. It is made so that you can easily take the cover off to clean it in the situations that always happen with sick kids, diaper blow outs, spilled drinks or snacks, or just gets dirty from normal use. The seat is attached in different areas with touch tape, and can be removed and reattached without the huge hassle that other seats have always had. This is the easiest car seat I've ever owned when it comes to getting it all adjusted for correct positioning. Everything is so simple and very user friendly.

I am thrilled to have had the opportunity to try this car seat. I received it free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. All opinions and experiences expressed are my own.

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Amore di Mona Vegan Chocolates

This post contains sponsored links.


I love trying different types of chocolates.  However, this is one type of chocolate that I hadn't tried before.  I received 2 boxes of chocolates from Amore di Mona.  The big thing that made these chocolates different is that these are vegan chocolates.  They are GMO free, and Non-GMO Project Verified.  They are also free of gluten, sesame seeds, wheat, soy, eggs, corn, peanuts and tree nuts, as is the facility they are made in.  They are organic, all natural, kosher, Fair Trade, preservative and artificial coloring free, and sweetened with raw, organic, Fair Trade Madhava agave nectar.

In my box I received the Amore di Mona Connoisseur Collection Dark Chocolate & Caramella Gift Box, and the 3 Piece Party Favor Gift Box.

I must say that I really love the boxes that these chocolates came in.  They are very elegant and beautifully packaged.  They come wrapped very securely and sealed with a wax seal (which I'm pretty sure is actually rubber as it doesn't break when bent).  The chocolates, when removed from their main box, are wrapped in paper and with the gold seal, and the Amore di Mona Connoisseur Collection Dark Chocolate & Caramella Gift Box was also wrapped with gold foil.






The Amore di Mona Connoisseur Collection Dark Chocolate & Caramella Gift Box is lovely.  The candies in them are very tasty.  I was actually very surprised at how much I liked these, as I wasn't sure what to expect with vegan chocolate.  The chocolates are very different in flavor from one another.  In the gift box I received 4 heart dark chocolate, 2 heart dark chocolate with currants, and 2 heart dark chocolate with coffee beans.  I also received the rectangular chocolates in the flavors of caramela, caramela with cranberries, caramela with cherries, and caramela with coffee beans.  

The caramela with coffee beans were my favorite.  I am a huge coffee fan, and these hit the spot. They are a little chewy, with coffee bean pieces that gave it a really nice coffee flavor.  The cranberry and cherry flavors give the caramela a nice extra bit of sweetness to the dark chocolate.  The hearts with the coffee and currants were also very good.  The coffee was perfectly balanced with the dark chocolate, and the currants added a nice touch of sweetness to the bitter of the chocolate. The regular chocolate chocolates and caramela were good, but probably my least favorite.  Only because they were more of an unsweetend flavor than I am generally used to.  I love dark and extra dark chocolates, but they needed just a little more sweet added to them for me.  

I also discovered that I liked these partially soft.  I usually freeze or refrigerate my chocolates.  I tried that with these, and they tasted almost grainy.  When I left them out on my counter in the warmer room, they were soft and the texture was completely different.  The softness of the chocolate made it more creamy and a much better feel in my mouth.  







The box came with a tag that showed all the different flavors of the chocolates, so you can easily distinguish between the flavors and pick out the ones you want to try first.





The 3 Piece Party Favor Gift Box was one that I enjoyed quite a bit.  There were 3 different flavors in there.  One I picked out immediately was the chocolate with coffee bean.  The nice flavor of the coffee was distinct and I was able to pick it out quickly.  The others were the caramela and the caramela with cranberries.  Both were very good.  The caramela was a good chewy texture, and the caramela with cranberries was a little sweeter than the other 2 in the box, making it a nice finish.

These are perfect for little gifts, or even as a very lovely wedding box for guests to put in gift bags or at the tables at the wedding dinner.  They are elegant, sophisticated, and they taste very lovely.  They are also vegan, non GMO, Fair Trade, free of gluten, peanuts and tree nuts, soy, dairy, artificial sweeteners and preservatives, and sweetened with raw, organic, agave nectar.  Making them perfect for most people.





I received these free in exchange for my review.  If you are wanting to see more chocolates from Amore di Mona, click HERE to visit them on Amazon.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Hall's Candies - A Delicious Variety of Candies

This post contains sponsored links.


I love my occasional sweet treat.  Sometimes I share them, and sometimes (being a mother of 9 and get tired of only getting a piece or two out of all of my treats) I will hide them.  Every lady needs her own secret stash of sweets.  They are our special little treat for a hard day of work, a terrible day, or just for a happy moment of sweet delight.

I was overjoyed when I opened my box last week and found the most amazing surprise.  I had a box of, not just 1 treat, but 4 different candies from Hall's Candies.  I found that not only could I share with my family (believe me, they were thrilled), I was able to stash away my own special treat of my favorite sweets.

Let me talk you through this fun box of goodies.



I was able to try out Hall's Assorted Fudge , Peanut Brittle, Milk Chocolate Covered Marshmallows, and Assorted Salt Water Taffy.

The Assorted Fudge was really amazing.  I have made fudge, and I have purchased all kinds of fudge.  Making fudge is a little tedious, and the kind I make requires it to stay cold.  Otherwise it melts.  Some of my more recent experiences with the fudge I've purchased has been a fudge that was more of a strange chewy texture.  When I opened the box of Hall's Assorted Fudge, I was wondering what type of fudge I was going to eat.

I will say that I was more than pleasantly surprised by the taste, texture, and quality of this fudge.  This was right up there with the high quality fudge I had purchased in expensive fudge shops.  The fudge was delicious.  I had to try the Chocolate Walnut first.  That is my all time favorite flavor.  The fudge was moist, yet it broke apart when I bit it.  It wasn't chewy like caramel, as I had with other brands.  The walnuts were good sized and spread throughout the large piece of fudge.

There were 8 varieties of fudge in the box.  I had 2 pieces of Chocolate, Vanilla, Chocolate Walnut, Maple Walnut, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Layered Peanut Butter (chocolate on bottom and peanut butter on top).  Then I had 1 piece of the Panuche Walnut.

I loved each one of these.  The Chocolate was perfectly chocolaty.  The Maple Walnut had a good maple flavor that reminded me of breakfast and maple syrup.  The Peanut Butter flavors were a lovely surprise, as they were not overly peanut buttery in flavor.  They were the perfect strength for me.  Overall, these are my top favorite fudge I've had.




These Chocolate Covered Marshmallows were very good.  The box had 19 chocolate covered marshmallows in it.  They were actually very delicious and a nice sweet treat.  I could tell very quickly that these weren't just store bought marshmallows.  They were a richer and almost chewier texture than store marshmallows. They had that homemade taste, and with them covered in the silky milk chocolate, it was delicious.  The marshmallow melted in my mouth, and the chocolate covered my tongue and mouth with a delicate and wonderful chocolate taste and feel.  The chocolate was smooth, and not grainy.  

These are a perfect little snack when you just need to grab a little piece of something sweet, but not too sweet.  My kids loved them too.  As you can see, I had a little hand snatching them up as I was trying to get the pictures.  The box was also amazingly empty by the time I was able to get the picture of the inside of the marshmallow.  My kids and husband were quick to help me eat these candies.







I am a big peanut brittle fan.  When I opened the box of Hall's Peanut Brittle, I was surprised at how much you get with the 13 ounce box.  It comes in a heat sealed plastic bag, so I poured it into one of my storage containers to keep it fresh.  The peanut brittle was fresh and crisp.  When broken, it gave a good snap and had a nice crunch as I ate it.  The brittle had the perfect thickness, and the amount of peanuts were perfectly spread out throughout the brittle.  

The sweet and salty mix of the peanut brittle is great.  It gives you that satisfaction of when you want to have that sweet and salty snack.  One piece is perfect, and sometimes it's nice to grab another just in case you need that extra indulgence.  The pieces are varied from large, to little sized for smaller treats or to share with your little children (if you want to, but it's not required).  





Last was the Assorted Salt Water Taffy.  This was an assortment of 8 different flavors of salt water taffy.  Each piece was individually wrapped in wax paper to protect them from sticking together.  I got one long piece of each of the flavors of Chocolate, Banana, Creamsicle (orange cream), Cinnamon, Strawberry, Tutti Frutti, Vanilla, and Watermelon.  

The salt water taffy was very firm, but gave a nice long, sticky stretch as you pulled it.  Every flavor was unique, and some were flavors I had never tried before.  The cinnamon was a good strong flavor, and perfect for the cinnamon lover.  The chocolate and vanilla were so interesting.  I had never tried those flavors before in salt water taffy.  They were very good, with the actual taste of chocolate and the vanilla flavor.  My favorite, though, was the creamsicle.  I love orange, and the orange cream flavor was magic in my mouth.  It brought me back to my childhood at my grandmother's, eating the creamsicle ice cream.  It was wonderful.  





I received these for free in exchange for my review.  If you are interested in checking out Hall's Candies, you can find there HERE on Amazon.